Originally posted Jan 25, 2015, 1:30 AM by Phil Morgan   [ updated Jun 15, 2015, 3:18 PM ]
Our Chess Club was formed in 1965, with a young Neil Graham as one of the founder members. The Club has won the League Championship once, approximately half-way through the club's existence, in 1988-89.  The club was then based at the Crown and Woolpack in Sutton. The team captain  was Steve Burke and our top board player was Mike Alcock. Steve recalls the team's strength in depth helped to clinch the championship. He had a false memory that matches were played over 8 boards, but the League table indicates otherwise Other current club members were regulars in the championship-winning team. There were then 14 teams in Division 1. Further information on our championship-year, and the club's history will appear here during our fiftieth anniversary year. 
The Sutton Club changed its name to Sherwood House in 1993 and Ashfield Chess Club in 1995.
Details of the League Championship year are here:- http://nottschess.org/1988_89/results.html
You'll see there were 51 teams in the League then including Derby, Hucknall, Keyworth, Bulwell, Rainworth, and 4 Mansfield teams.