Archives 2015-16 Season‎ > ‎News‎ > ‎

Nakamura Touch-Move Controversy

posted Mar 18, 2016, 4:54 AM by Phil Morgan   [ updated May 8, 2016, 2:46 PM ]
March 18th, 2016 at 11:38 | #3

" For anyone interested this 2min video from the World Chess YouTube channel shows the whole incident: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=puRR65UUKAs

While I sympathise with someone being upset about their dream being crushed. I don’t think any of the other players at the Candidates that would have done what Nakamura did in that video if they were in the same situation (including Topalov).

To me, he tried to get away with cheating. I think we should should be grateful that there was a camera and arbiter that saw it, otherwise it could have been a lot worse. I think Nakamura didn’t persist in his claims because he realised the arbiter had seen it. Lets not forget Hikaru has a record, he did some illegal move against Nepomniachtchi at the World Cup, there he got away with it. That was not as bad as what he did here, however, I think in future Nakamura would benefit from reading the rules of Chess again.

I also hope that FIDE takes some kind of disciplinary action against him after the tournament ends. In my eyes; he got caught trying to cheat, therefore he should receive some form of disciplinary action like a participant in any other sport or activity would, if they got caught. "

I fully agree with the views expressed in the  above post  from the Quality Chess Blog, Phil

p.s. No disciplinary action was taken. Since then in the Ultimate Blitz Challenge, Gary Kasparov did exactly the same against Nakamura, releasing a piece before picking it up again and placing it on another square. Whilst against the rules in classical chess, it seems that this is not so in Blitz in which the move is only completed when the player presses his clock. The biter got bit. Nakamura smiled and play continued. 

Comments